Cecilia’s Birth Story Part 1

img_1910

I want to start off by saying that I think no matter how a baby is born is beautiful, there is no right or wrong way to have a baby. In the end, a healthy baby and healthy mom are all that matter! And it is your birth and what you want out of it! I feel like there are so many negative birth stories I want to share my positive VBAC birth story. I have a lot to share, so I thought it would be best to divide this into two posts.

For a little background information, Benjamin was breech and I found that out at my 40 week ultrasound. I still am not thrilled that I found out so late in the game. It is unknown if he flipped late or if the doctor was feeling his butt instead of his head. We found out on a Tuesday, we did an external version on Thursday that was unsuccessful and he was delivered through a C-section on Friday. He had a shorter than normal umbilical cord, which the doctor thought could be the reason why he wouldn’t flip down. My recovery was fine, my c-section was fine. It was all I knew. I had accepted how Benjamin was born and I was and am completely okay with it.

When I found out I was pregnant with my second child (Cecilia), I was excited to say the least. At my first doctor’s appointment my OB asked if I wanted to consider a VBAC or schedule a C-section. I had no idea at the time.

Now, over the past 18 months, I have become much more aware of what I put into my body and I have really made it a point to take care of my body. Reducing the amount of processed foods and focusing on eating whole, clean foods and exercising daily. So when I found out I was pregnant, I wanted to become more informed and make sure I was taking care of my body and my baby. I started attending some prenatal yoga classes, as I regretted not doing that with my first pregnancy. I fell in love with the studio I went to (Home Holistic) and learned so much at every class. There was a special, warm welcoming feel at yoga, where we shared how we were feeling, any uncomfortable symptoms and things like that. It really brought a community/family feel to class. Each time I walked away learning something new, as well as feeling more bonded to my little babe that I was growing. The more I went to class and spent some time doing my own research the more I was drawn to the idea of trying for a VBAC.

When I was 30 weeks along I decided it is what I wanted, with no medication, no medical interventions unless they were absolutely necessary. So I signed away my life, well not really just felt like it, when I was filling out the TOLAC (Trial of Labor after a Cesarean) paperwork at my OB’s office.

A few of my friends were trying for VBAC and told me about The Business of Being Born so we decided to give it a watch. I was so intrigued and fascinated. I became more educated and unfortunately very frustrated with the way things are. I knew I wanted to go all in, so we decided to hire a doula. I had decided I wanted this birth experience and I wanted another support person and another advocate for us. With a VBAC, you are monitored nonstop and so often they are quick to do another C-section, and I didn’t want that! We hired our amazing doulas that were also my prenatal yoga teachers.

One of the things we did with them is create a birth plan. Some of the things we included was that our goal was to have an unmedicated birth, dimmed lights, music, the opportunity to use the tub, to push in a position of my choice,  delay clamping, and delay newborn bath are just a few of the things we wanted.  I did not do this with my first pregnancy. I was well aware of the fact that things could not go to plan but I wanted to at least have my wants and desires known. Being a VBAC since you are monitored continuously, I wasn’t sure if my doctor would be okay with everything, but I was thrilled when my doctor signed off that she was okay with all my wants and desires for this birth!

img_1909

I demanded that I would have an ultrasound to confirm baby was head down around 35 weeks as I didn’t want to be in a similar situation where baby flips or they didn’t know baby was breech. From about weeks 35 through the remainder of my pregnancy I visited a chiropractor to make sure everything was properly aligned to help me with my VBAC goal. In my due time I also started acupuncture, to help reduce any anxieties/fears surrounding birth as well as getting things started naturally. The month prior, I started reading positive birth stories as well as creating my own positive birth affirmations. I’m a big believer in attracting what you desire, and this birth experience was no different! Stay tuned for part 2!

Leave a comment